What is Halal and what is Haram?
- Halal is an Arabic word meaning allowed or permitted by Islamic Law. Haram means forbidden or prescribed by Islamic Law. In relation to food, Halal does not simply mean no pork and no alcohol. Halal food involves eating animals that are allowed and have been slaughtered according to Islamic Law, not killed by strangulation or killed by wild animals. Halal food cannot stem from or consist of any part or item from animals that are forbidden (pig, carrion having claws, talons or fangs, etc.) to Muslims by Islamic Law. Food, be it animal, vegetable, fruit or grain must be Tayyib (healthy) and must not contain any substance that is considered impure (alcohol) in Islamic Law. Food must also be prepared, processed or manufactured using equipment or utensils that are free from impurities, as defined by Islamic Law. Food, when prepared, processed, manufactured, packaged, stored or, transported must not come in contact with or stored near any food that is forbidden or that contains impurities, as defined by Islamic Law.
What is Mushbooh?
- The meaning of the Arabic term “Mushbooh” is suspect, doubtful, or questionable. Foods labelled as mushbooh require further investigation into whether they fall into either the halal or haram categories.
What is Islamic Zabiha?
- Provided an animal is not specifically prohibited by Islamic Shariah Law, the animal and its by-products must be made permissible for consumption under Islamic Shariah Law by being slaughtered according to the prescribed procedure. This process, called Islamic Zabiha, involves reciting of a prayer at the time of slaughter and cutting through the jugular vein in such a manner that all the blood is drained from the body, thereby killing the animal in the most quick and painless manner possible.
Can we eat food cooked by a non Muslim when we do not know whether or not it is clean?
- A Muslim is allowed to eat any food made by a person whose faith and religion is not known to him, no matter whether that person touched it with wetness or did not touch it, provided that he does not know or is not sure that the food consists of what is forbidden to him.
Can we eat a meal that has been cooked by a non-Muslim whose religion we do not know?
- It is permissible to eat the food and it is not necessary for the Muslim to question the person who prepared the food about his beliefs or disbeliefs, or whether or not he had touched the food, even if that inquiry is very convenient and natural for one who wants to ask.
Can I eat Christians' foods that contain meat?
- All kinds of food with the exception of meat, fat, and their extracts are permissible for a Muslim, even if he doubts that it might contain something which is forbidden for him to eat or doubts that its cook
What is the general rule about foods made by Ahl-e Kitab (People of the Books)?
- Since the followers of the past revealed religions (that is, the Jews, the Christians and the Zoroastrians) are ritually pure, many of the problems concerning the status and permissibility of the food are resolved when we live in their midst. It becomes permissible for us as Muslims to eat from their food no matter whether they touched it with their wet hands or not as long as we do not know or are not sure that it consists of what is forbidden to us, like intoxicating drinks. As for meat, fat and their extracts, they are Haram and cannot be used unless one is sure that they are Halal
Is it haram to use balsamic vinegar, wine vinegar? What is criteria for anything Halal?
- Any type of Vinegar is Halal unless it contains alcohol or any other Haram ingredients.
Can we eat the meat or any food that is cooked in the oil in which pork was fried? Is it halal or harm?
- No, you are not allowed to eat meat or food prepared in the oil in which pork was fried, because such oil contains ingredients from pork or at least has contact with pork, which is considered najas and impure. So, stay away from them."
It it permissible for a Muslim to eat with non Muslims people who drink wine on the same table?
- Name of Counselor : Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid It is not permissible to sit with people who are drinking wine (alcohol), whether they are kaafirs or Muslims. Allah says concerning the one who sits with those who are speaking of kufr and falsehood: “…. when you hear the Verses of Allâh being denied and mocked at, then sit not with them, until they engage in a talk other than that; (but if you stayed with them) certainly in that case you would be like them….” (An-Nisaa’ 4:140) Al-Tabari said: this aayah clearly indicates that it is not allowed to sit with the people of falsehood of any kind, when they are indulging in their falsehood. “…but if you stayed with them) certainly in that case you would be like them…” (An-Nisaa’ 4:140). Ibn Katheer said: i.e., you would be like them in sinning. According to a hadeeth narrated by Jaabir, the Prophet (pecace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “Whoever believes in Allah and the Last Day, let him not sit at a table where wine is being served.” (Narrated by al-Tirmidhi, al-Adab, 2725; classed as hasan by al-Albaani in Saheeh Sunan al-Tirmidhi, 2246). The commentator on the hadeeth said: even if he does not drink with them, it is as if he is approving of their evil action. So it is not permissible to sit with them or to converse with them, even if one does not drink, because if he does that he is like a silent Shaytaan (devil). If you see them, then you have to denounce them for that, and if they do not respond then leave them and keep away from them. We ask Allah to keep us safe and sound. May Allah bless our Prophet Muhammad.
Both in Christianity and Judaism, wine is permitted. Why is it haram in Islam?
- I can understand the reason for drinking too much alcohol and being "drunk". Wine, however, is said to be healthy in moderation and was also drunk by Prophet Jesus? Answer: Wine is forbidden in all divine religions including Christianity. Jesus did not drink wine though it is written in one of the four Gospels. In the Last Supper, Jesus drank wine but this incident, even if we accept as true, was never repeated by Jesus. I mean there is no report that he used to drink wine and Jesus is not an exception. He is one of the Prophets of God who came to fulfill the message of Allah not to destroy anything revealed to Prophets preceding him. Also, wine was forbidden by all the Old Testament. In the Qur’an, Allah says that wine is an evil act and it breeds enmity between people and take them away from the right path. Allah says in the Qur’an, “O ye who believe! Strong drink and games of chance and idols and divining arrows are only an infamy of Satan's handiwork. Leave it aside in order that ye may succeed (90) Satan seeketh only to cast among you enmity and hatred by means of strong drink and games of chance, and to turn you from remembrance of Allah and from (His) worship.” (Al- Ma’idah 5:90 - 91) To talk about the evil consequences of wine, the evil effects of wine are widely known and many western scholars, doctors and scientists warn their societies against indulging in drinking wine.
I would like to know if it is permissible to take medicine containing alcohol which is used to preserve it.
- Responding to the question in point, the eminent Muslim scholar, Sheikh Yusuf Al-Qaradawi, states: "Some jurists do not consider medicine to be necessary as food. They cited the following Hadith to support their argument. The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) says, "Allah has not made things that are unlawful for you to consume to be your medicine
What is the ruling on eating lobsters, crabs and shrimps?
- The basic rule is that all sea food is halal, according to the hadith of the Prophet about the sea: “Its water is pure, and its meat is halal.” And also in the Qura’n: “It is He Who has made the sea subject, that ye may eat thereof flesh that is fresh and tender….” (An-Nahl 16: 14) These texts are general and we don’t have any evidence that modify them. So, eating ….is Ok and opinion of the Hanafi is substantiated by solid proofs.
What does Halal certification mean?
- For a product to be Halal, it must be as a whole, and in part: free from any substance taken or extracted from a Haram animal or ingredient; made, processed, manufactured and/or stored by using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that has been cleaned according to Islamic law ;and free from contact with, or being close to, a Haram substance during preparation, manufacture, processing and storage ;Halal certification means that a product’s contents and manufacture has been endorsed by an accredited religious authority as meeting these standards
Why do manufacturers seek Halal certification of food and drinks?
- Many food manufacturers seek Halal certification of their facilities and processes, in order to label their products as Halal and ensure they are able to be enjoyed by Muslim and non-Muslims worldwide. In the same way that food labeled as gluten-free is suitable for consumption by a broad range of consumers, Halal certified foods are commonly enjoyed by non-Muslims
Can non-Muslim people consume Halal-certified food and drinks?
- Yes. Halal certified foods are commonly enjoyed by non-Muslims.
A product I often buy has now been Halal certified – what has been done to it?
- In many cases, existing manufacturing processes and product ingredients are already compliant with Halal standards. The manufacturers may change production processes (for example, replacing alcohol as a cleaning agent with an alternative) or change ingredient/s in order to achieve certification.
How do I find out whether a product is Halal certified?
- The best way to know if a product is Halal certified is to check the label. Halal certification generally applies to production sites and processes rather than brands per se, the same food or drink manufactured at different sites around the world may vary in terms of its Halal certification status.
What is Circle H International ?
- Circle H International(Circle H ) is the only internationally recognized authority empowered to certify and license its unified Ⓗ™ standard globally from the most prominent religious leaders and non-governmental organizations (NGO’s) in the world, including from the renowned Al-Azhar University in Egypt and 14 other major Islamic Universities; the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC); and 10 major international associations in 10 countries. The great majority of all Muslims worldwide follow these authorities. Circle H is also the first to forge strategic alliances with various governments, NGO’s and global leaders and businesses, all of which have recognized Circle H’s unique, essential and reliable role and value in the moral, health, welfare, and economic development of the Muslim World.
What are Ⓗ™ Halal certified products/services?
- Ⓗ™ Halal certified products and services comply with Sharia Advisory Council religious standards, quality standards and Ⓗ™ process and procedures. Ⓗ™ certifies products and services in eight (8) Sectors: Food, Finance, Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics, Tourism, Fashion, Media/Entertainment and Healthcare.
Basic principles for Halal products
- - Being Halal or Haram products is the function of being lawful or unlawful with respect to Divine orders - Assigning Halal or Haram depends on being beneficial or harmful, respectively - In the context of the above concepts, assigned orders in Shariah are both fixed and variable rules based on the state of subjects on specific times and places. - Orders in Shariah are ranked based on the degree of being beneficial or harmful while the best choice is preferred whenever it is necessary - Some controls and governing regulations such as “La girl” (no harm to human), Haraj (the existence of serious threat and/or constraints), and urgency rules occasionally disapprove the order
Is it permissible for a Muslim to attend a gathering where intoxicating drinks are being served?
- Eating and drinking in those gatherings is forbidden. However, the prohibition in attending such gatherings is based on obligatory precaution. But there is no problem in attending such gatherings for the purpose of forbidding the evil (nahi ‘anil munkar), if one is capable of doing that.